Monday, 26 September 2016

Brian Jamieson - Cover [WCMCD063]

COVER is the new LP from Scottish HIP HOP Pioneer Brian Jamieson. The LP is a story set in the fictional notorious Glasgow housing scheme ‘Hainehill’, and follows the trials and tribulations of the main character, Sean McManaman, voiced by Brian.

McManaman must go through life disfigured by a terrible facial scar, with resulting judgement and prejudice from all corners. Sean’s life spirals into a complete chaos of vice - gambling, alcohol, drug addiction and unprotected sex. The album follows his journey on a road to near impossible redemption in a typical Glasgow housing scheme plagued by social deprivation.
 COVER features a mighty cast-list playing characters in Sean’s story – long-time collaborators, family, friends and guests – all consummate and inspirational musicians and performers.MC BUTTERSCOTCH of SPRING BREAK was the first artist asked to join the LP as he has a vivid imagination and similar sense of humour to Brian. When the idea of the two of them doing a song called RAGE AGAINST THE FRUIT MACHINE came up it was a no brainer in more ways than one.

10 year old Emily Moore is Brian's cousins daughter in real life and is fanatical about music, she wants to learn it all and was like a sponge in the studio, She nailed her part in one take and even came in during mixing and asked "right, what are we doing next?".
Natalie Lynch has worked with Brian before on various projects and always delivers a jaw dropping performance with a ridiculous range. Jillian Anderson is friends with Brian from the Fort William music scene and was asked on board because she is crazy as batshit, Brian was initially sceptical about asking Jillian to participate in such a song of horrid sexist subject matter but Jillian said "ach its a bit of craic" and kept the session in bits with her endless banter and energy.
Mark Lawrie is also a friend of Brian's from the Fort William music scene and he fitted perfect on "Baltic Revenga" with his EAGLES OF DEATH METAL-esque blues vocals. Mary Ann Kennedy joined in miraculously after being asked to jump on a "Ska-Grime" tune for a laugh. Claire Campbell is a stalwart of the folk/acoustic music scene in Glasgow and is well loved on the open mic circuit throughout the city and her tender voice fits perfectly playing against Brian's character's on various songs.

Nick Turner has done silly voices on Brian's songs since 1995 playing a "wack MC" / an "advertisement salesman" / a "Grandmother of a gangster" and this time a social worker where he raps along with Brian on "Psychiatrist meets Nihilist".   

Full Cast List:
NATALIE LYNCH who plays Sean's mother 
JILLIAN ANDERSON who plays Sean's ex-girlfriend
EMILY MOORE who plays Sean's estranged child
MARY ANN KENNEDY who plays Sean's boss 
MC BUTTERSCOTCH who plays a disgruntled cashier in a casino
CLAIRE CAMPBELL who plays Sean's new girlfriend 
MARK LAWRIE who plays Sean's enemy
 NICK TURNER who plays Sean's psychiatrist

 The music on the LP is produced by NICK TURNER from the award-winning Watercolour Music studios, with a multi-genre approach moving seamlessly from Ballad to Heavy Metal, Jazz and Funk to Grime, Hip Hop to Dance, and Acoustic and Blues to Drum & Bass. Brian’s vision was for an album that gives the vibe of a movie soundtrack rather than a conventional LP. And musically, COVER is equally large-scale, with choirs and live crowds involved in the sonics. 

 The concept of COVER was inspired by TV shows like BREAKING BAD, SONS OF ANARCHY and THIS IS ENGLAND, where the viewer is left on a knife edge at the end of each episode. The album track list likewise has the same effect on the listener. 

And if a film-maker hears the LP and is inspired to turn it into a film they have a soundtrack-in-waiting and Brian and Nick will know for sure they’ve succeeded in their ambition for COVER.


  1. Sean's Lament
  2. Sociopath Wardance
  3. Water Under a Burning Bridge
  4. The Fantastic Adventures of Iceberg Grim
  5. Playpen of Mayhem (Welcome to Hainehill)
  6. Clock In / Clock Out
  7. Rage Against the Fruit Machine
  8. Behind Every Bad Man There's a Good Woman
  9. Paint the Town Red (With Your Blood)
  10. Baltic Revenga
  11. Psychiatrist Meets Nihilist
  12. Cover
  13. Redemption?
  14. Sean's Away

Release Date: Thursday 13th October

No comments:

Post a Comment